Marilyn Mazur – percussionist – drummer – composer – bandleader

Prizes and awards recieved by Marilyn Mazur over the years
2010 The First International EuroCore – JTI Jazz Award
The award was handed over at the prize concert in Trier, Germany on December 3rd 2010, where Marilyn Mazur Celestial Circle performed.
2007 Telenor’s Culture Award
2006 Django D’Or – Legend of Jazz
2004 Editon Wilhelm Hansens komponistpris A prize normally given out to classical composers
2001 The Jazzpar Prize The worlds lagest jazz award
1989 JASA Prize By the JASA the organisation of danish jazz journalists
1983 The Ben Webster Prize By the Ben Webster Foundation

In 1989 MM decided to leave the Miles Davis Band to concentrate on developing her own music and the 7 piece international orchestra Future Song. For more than a decade, Future Song was one of MM’s main groups with which she produced many special projects involving dancers, choirs and much more. (CD’s: Marilyn Mazur’s Future Song vBr 2105-2, Small Labyrinths ECM 1559, Daylight Stories STUCD 04082).

In 1991 MM joined the Jan Garbarek Group with whom she toured till 2005. (CD’s: ECM 1500, 1585, 1685/86).
Since then, Marilyn has dedicated her time to actively composing and doing her own original projects and touring with her various bands; since 2008 mainly with Marilyn Mazur Group, Celestial Circle and Mystic Family.